Friday, March 9, 2012

cochoka! cochoka!

Do you ever have one of those days where you just know its going to be interesting? Yesterday, I was walking to the hospital which is like a 20 minute walk when my right foot slid across the sidewalk almost causing me to fall backward. It was like I stepped on a banana peel...but it was no banana peel. It was dog poo. Yup.. dog poo. I knew then that it was going to be interesting. I got to the hospital... on time but "early" in latin time. I understood most of the resident/med student pimping which was awesome. They were talking about HIV and the prevalence in transmission from mother to baby via vaginal delivery, csection, no treatment and with treatment. It was cool. I finally had an idea or what was going on. Then Dra. Salete began to present a new patient. She hands me the chest xray and says with much enthusiasm ... cochocka! Cochoka! I grabbed it looked at it and said" oh, chochoka." She still continued.. she knew I didn't know what she was saying. She then pointed to the baby, then the xray and say "chockoka!" I couldn't help but laugh and say, los siento, no entiendo. I handed the xray to a med student and tried to figure out what was going on. After, the visitas (rounds) dr. Velasco explained that the patient had whooping cough or... acellular pertussis. Now i have one more word under my belt... chochoka!! Stay tuned for the rest of my day, ayer. It gets more interesting :) have a good day!

No comments:

Post a Comment